Polls 2019: Mamata drops 10 sitting MPs, picks two cine stars

Mini Chakraborty (Image credit: FaceBook)

West Bengal chief minister and Trinamool Congress president Mamata Banerjee released the list of the candidates for all the 42 Lok Sabha seats in the state on Tuesday.

The candidates include 41% women, two of them popular celluloid faces. Mimi Chakraborty, a leading Bengali actor, is named for the Jadhavpur constituency, a stronghold of CPM. The Tollywood actor Nusrat Jahan is to contest from the Bashirhat seat, bordering Bangladesh.

Among the dropped sitting MPs, Soumitra Khan and Anupam Hazra have joined the BJP.

Nusrat Jahan (Image credit: Tellychakkar

A shrill voice against Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Mamata Banerjee was in the forefront in the talks of mega-alliance or ‘Mahagathabhandan’ to take on the BJP. But curiously, she is not willing to forge alliance with any party in her state, leading to a possible three-cornered contest.

While releasing the list of candidates, she asserted that her party (TMC) would win all the 42 seats.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.