Tag: Mayawati

Communal pitch: EC gags Yogi for 72 hours, Mayawati for 48 hours

Mayawati and Yogi Adityanath

Acting on a nudge by the Supreme Court on Monday, the Election Commission has issued separate gag orders against Uttar Pradesh chief minister Yogi Adityanath and BSP supremo Mayawati.

The order comes shortly after the election body was pulled up by the top court for not acting against political leaders for violating the Model Code.

Mayawati was addressing a poll rally in Saharanpur’s Deoband on April 7, when she appealed to the Muslim community in Uttar Pradesh not to waste their vote on Congress candidates, but to vote en masse in favour of SP-BSP alliance nominees in order to defeat the BJP in Uttar Pradesh.

Responding to her statement, Yogi Adityanath had remarked: “If the Congress, SP and BSP have faith in ‘Ali’, we have faith in ‘Bajrang Bali’, the followers of Bajrang Bali will not tolerate them.”

The Election Commission had served both Mayawati and Yogi Adityanath with show cause notice. But within an hour after SC’s nudge, the EC issued gag orders under Article 324 of the Constitution.

As a result, the two leaders are barred “from holding any public meetings, public processions, public rallies, road shows and interviews, public utterances (electronic, print, social media) etc in connection with ongoing elections” – for 72 hours for Yogi Adityanath and 48 hours for Mayawati. The order comes into effect from 6:00 AM on April 16.

This is the first incidence of such action over violation of Model Code taken  by the Election Commission this election season.


Lok Sabha polls: Mayawati snubs Congress again

Mayawati (File Photo)

Bahujan Samajwadi chief Mayawati on Monday rejected the gesture of cooperation from the Congress party once again, over the electoral understating  to fight the Lok Sabha polls in the state of Uttar Pradesh.

On Sunday, the Congress had announced that the party was not fielding its candidates in seven seats that are contested by Mayawati, SP chief Akhilesh Yadav and other key members of the SP-BSP-RLD combine.

Congress leader and the chief of the state unit Raj Babbar said: “We are leaving seven seats vacant for SP, BSP and RLD. These include Mainpuri, Kannauj, Firozabad and whatever seats Mayawati ji and  RLD’s Jayant ji and Ajit Singh contest from”.

In response Mayawati tweeted: “The Congress is free to put up candidates in all 80 seats in Uttar Pradesh, for our alliance is strong enough to defeat the BJP. The Congress should not forcibly create an illusion about any alliance with us”.

Few days ago, Mayawati had made it clear that the SP-BSP combine would not have a poll-pact anywhere in India.

Mayawati’s tweet on Monday: